Our Guide To The 5 C's of a Diamond

Diamonds are one of the most precious and sought-after gemstones in the world. When choosing a diamond, it's essential to educate yourself on the four C's: Cut, Color, Clarity, and Carat. These four factors determine the quality, value, and overall look of the diamond. However, here at AARYAH, we believe that there is a fifth ‘C’  that is just as important but often overlooked: Character.


Cut determines the diamond's overall sparkle and brilliance and refers to how well a diamond has been cut. The cut of a diamond is crucial, as it determines how well the diamond reflects light. A well-cut diamond will reflect the light back to the viewer's eye, creating a dazzling display of light and color. An imperfectly cut diamond, on the other hand, will appear softer and more muted in the sparkle. The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) grades cut on a scale from Excellent to Poor.
The 4 Cs - Aaryah 4Cs Cut


The GIA uses a scale from D (colorless) to Z (light yellow or brown) to grade diamond color. The color of a diamond is another essential factor to consider. Color refers to the presence or absence of color in a diamond. Diamonds range from colorless (very white) to a yellow or brown hue. However, some diamonds may have unique colors or hues that set them apart from other diamonds. These are considered "Fancy Diamonds." Fancy diamonds include pink diamonds, yellow diamonds, blue diamonds, green diamonds, and red diamonds. These fancy, or colored, diamonds use another scale for grading color.The 4 Cs - Aaryah 4Cs Color

The 4 Cs - Aaryah 4Cs FancyColor


Diamonds are a natural resource formed underneath the earth's surface, resulting in no diamond being the same. Clarity is assessed under magnification to determine any inclusions or blemishes that are extremely hard to see with the naked eye. Inclusions are small imperfections found within the structure of the diamond, and blemishes are flaws found on the outside of the diamond. A flawless diamond is incredibly rare and expensive, and most diamonds with unique imperfections have strong character and stand out among the rest.


The 4 Cs - Aaryah 4Cs Clarity


Carat refers to a diamond’s weight, not its size. It is usually one of the first things people ask about any diamond. When comparing a diamond’s carat weight, you must also consider its cut. A high-carat weight and low-cut grade may look smaller than a diamond with a lower-carat weight but a better-cut grade. Some diamond shapes appear larger than their carat weight such as marquise, triangles, and lozenges.    

Aaryah 4 Cs Carat - Aaryah 4Cs Carat  


Understanding the 4 C's of diamond education is essential when purchasing a diamond. However, at AARYAH, we believe that there is a fifth C that is equally as important. We value the unique personality and trait of each diamond that we source. By considering the character of each diamond, we can truly create special and one-of-a-kind piece of jewelry with a story that our clients can treasure for a lifetime.